A New Outlook…

WoW I really have to get back into blogging more. I’ve just been burnt out lately and feeling like Im just treading water and not getting anywhere in life. I’ve spent quite a bit of time thinking and processing things that are going on in my life. I’ve talked alot and probably driven a great friend of mine crazy with all my mindless babbling I’ve done the past few weeks but thats okay because I know she loves me!

Its been about 13 weeks since I graduated from being a Mamavation Mom and unfortunately I have allowed myself to slip back into most of my old habits and let life consume me. I have gained quite a bit of weight back but not all of it thankfully. The worst part is I feel like I’ve let everyone down. Because I know all the tools and what I should do but I haven’t put me first and kept doing them. I am formulating a plan to begin to start to put me first. Because as a wise woman told me Mothers are the gateway for the family. The Moms are the role model.

I let the house fall to pieces, nothing is where it should be and I know that a CHAOTIC house leads to a CHAOTIC Brain and that leads to a CHAOTIC life. So I am spending the next week or so trying to get the house organized and in order so that we can get back on track. Especially since the boys are about to begin their spring intercession. (3 weeks home including a birthday and easter).

The boys have been well they have been boys. They are growing and developing like crazy. H is going to be a teenager so we are beginning puberty (fun times for mommy). Not to mention we are transitioning to MIDDLE SCHOOL. Can we say EEEEEK. C is well he’s a typical preteen, Drama city which is a new ordeal for me because H didn’t have any of that. They both have joined the ERYM (Eno River Young Marines). Which is an amazing organization. They will be recruits for 12 more weeks. Then they should graduate from basic training. They are very excited and have really enjoyed it. Both of their grades are doing great they are really working hard in school and I am so proud of them both.

J on the other hand has really been giving us a run for our money. Autism is flying high around here. He’s getting so strong that it’s getting harder to manage him. The behaviors are starting to spill over into school. Sometimes its hard to remember that it’s not by his choice that he does some of it. We have a new appointment in May to see what they can do. I fear we are about to have to try Meds but I am hoping we can try another route.

Paleo Diet is the route I want to try. I’ve been reading a blog the past few days. They are releasing a book called Eat like a Dinosaur (which come out on Tuesday). They have seen major health issues be resolved with going on this life style change. I know that a fellow Sista Pamela (her blog) did the Paleo 30 day Challenge. I am really hoping that this can help us get back on track and maybe even resolve some other issues that are going on in our lives.

How do you keep yourself active, when you really don’t feel like working out ?

I will say that I have 2 things that really help. I’ll turn on the music and just start dancing. Helps tremendously. But also having my fitfriend checking in on me helps alot. If you are accountable to someone you are twice as likely to get moving. Doing the 2 week challenges *the new challenge starts on the 19th*. are great for a good jump-start and group.

“This post is sponsored by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway”

Categories: Health & Fitness, Mamavation, Uncategorized | Tags: | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “A New Outlook…

  1. M –

    I love you! You are an amazing woman & momma, don’t ever forget that. Even among the craziness! You will get back on track 🙂 I am still so amazed and proud of the progress you made while being a MM. You can do it again! I have all the faith in the world in you!

    -Rach

    • Rach,
      Love you too. I will try not to forget but you know how crazy it can get with SN kids. I will get back on track, Thank you so much for the support it means the world to me!
      ~MayMay

      • Oh I know 🙂 I will need reminders from you as well! Together we will get back on track, rock it & show the world how to be awesome mommas who don’t let anything get in out way!

  2. Losing weight is easy – keeping it off…that’s the hard part! You have been such an inspiration to so many of the sistas…don’t lose sight of that! I hope the paleo diet helps your family – I have seen it do some amazing things for a friend of mine and I have complete faith that if you have the determination and willpower to stick with it, it really can take on anything. Good luck!

  3. You are doing great.. We all get off track sometimes. It’s part of having a life. We just have to realize it and get back on track. Hope your week gets easier this week.

  4. I am so with you – I did great last year on the grill challenge, but sorta relaxed after that, and that shoes in all the wrong places. Well, there is no better time then NOW. XO

  5. You are a huge inspiration, you should never feel like you are letting us down!! Good luck with paleo, i’ve been wanting to try it but it will be such a huge adjustment for us, i’m scared!

  6. I can’t wait to follow your Paleo journey. I’ve been thinking about it for months now. Hopefully it will fulfill everything you want it to. Losing weight and keeping it off is so hard. You have many people to look to for advice and support though. 🙂 Good luck!!

  7. I left a beautiful comment, but I didn’t sign in right. Basically, I said that you are awesome for wanting to take on Paleo because it scares the pee outta me. I also said that you are NOT “not getting anywhere in life,” you are getting geared up for your next attack. I am in the same boat as you with feeling overwhelmed by all of the things I suck at right now, but I have to look past the failures to get to the successes. Hold your head up high, because you are doing better than you think.

  8. First off, are we leading parallel lives. I swear I felt like you were talking to me. I’m going through the same thing! I did it but then didn’t maintain it. I know what to do but I’m not doing it. I feel like I let myself down more than anything. I feel every bit of that extra weight. It sucks. Paleo is tough I’m not going to lie. I struggled a lot. The first week was spent in withdrawals. No kidding, like a drug addict because I was kicking caffeine, sugar, bread and dairy all at the same time. By week two you might start to feel human again. It is amazing what the body will adjust to. Preparing meals gets really challenging. I have a ton of Paleo blogs, recipes and such on my Pinterest board. I know of the Paleo Parents and their book. You will feel better. It will be hard but it will be worth it. For 30 days I did it and as soon as it was over I was able to gradually introduce foods back into my diet. It was amazing to see what made me blow up like a blow fish and little by little all the weight came back and it just became a downward spiral. What I didn’t get to find out was what is it like to do Paleo and work out! You might have even better success because you are able to exercise. I’m still on the injured list. It’s been 4 months now. I struggle with all kinds of nastiness it’s been very unpleasant. My trainer will can and is willing to help you on your journey. I did tweet you with his Twitter handle. If you need anything I’m here.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

