Running Therapy

Well we all know that I desperately need more activities and things to schedule for our family… I mean because you know after all I am a “stay at home mom” and I sit at home and eat bonbons and watch my stories all day…… Now if could jump back to reality….

brainsA few weeks ago Jakers brought home a permission slip for running club. Yep just about the time we have gotten the spontaneous running that is stereotypical for an Autistic Child. He now wants me to encourage his ability to run not only more, but longer stents and faster…. Well then the movie Miracle Run popped back in my head. I have also read of several different things about running and physical activity combating ADHD and other neurological issues. So I figure its 2 days a week 1 hour each time. Why not try it out… Its only for a few weeks they are training for the Got Grit? 5k
on the 10th of may.

Jakers and Logan 1mile Walk Exceptional Race for Exceptional Children 2010

Jakers and Logan 1mile Walk Exceptional Race for Exceptional Children 2010

 

Well after the first running session he had Swim Team practice so I figure we will see how that goes *as with most of Jakers its a hit or miss* well that was a kick practice but Coach said he was on point the whole time! So I figure we will see what happens next week… Well after running he had a great swim practice followed by a great piano lesson. So the next day we tried just swimming and he was not focused and Coach was like umm… Run Run Run we are pro running for him. So I figure why not give it a whirl lets have him run/walk more often and see what kind of changes we see in him… Its really a great timing because we just started the new 9 weeks so its a fresh reporting period for school. No long swim breaks for the rest of the season, and the weather should be decent enough to get him outside….

I’ve also decided that if hes gonna possibly be a runner… Guess what? Its time for me to lace up my running shoes and at least become a part time runner…. Especially since it will be months before Logan is able to run with his boy.

motivatequote

So here is my question to you…. What do you recommend for a beginner runner? Brands, gadgets, socks, you name it what advice…

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Running Therapy

  1. I wish I had some tips but good for you and Jake! Zoe is going to be in her first Special Olympics through the school this year with field events in 2 weeks. I’m so excited! I’d love to hear how you combat the elopement. Zoe used to have LOTS of trouble with this when younger (poor kid, we never let go her hand or let her run) but now we just call her back and she comes – so it at least the wandering can get better! Can’t tell you EXACTLY if it was therapy, the autism diet, inclusion in school, homeopathy or some mix of all of them, but I’m so glad you’re letting him run!

    • We should really get J involved in the SO and always plan too but everything is in the next city over or in the other county…. He doesn’t qualify for the SO in school. We are willing to try anything rather than medications to help combat his autism and the complications from it… Logan (service dog) is really what saved us during his elopements….

  2. Best wishes for the greatest success with the running! #AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers

